Supported by 

Children's Book of the Year: Breakthrough

 Supported by World Book Day, this award celebrates fresh talent by shining a light on the début author who demonstrates the very best in new writing for children. 


Click on the FIND OUT MORE buttons to find out about each book.

A Passing On of Shells

Simon Lamb

Scallywag Press


Skye McKenna

Welbeck Children's Books (Welbeck Flame imprint)

Mia and the Lightcasters

Janelle McCurdy


The Secret of Haven Point

Lisette Auton


The Twig Man

Sana Rasoul

Hashtag Press

Onyeka and the Academy of the Sun

Tọlá Okogwu

Simon & Schuster


Caryl Lewis

Macmillan Children's Books

The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger

J. T. Williams


Category partner